Home » Motivaton » Step 46. Discover active relaxation

Step 46. Discover active relaxation


View in front of my window

 

English: Albert Einstein Français : Portrait d...

English: Albert Einstein Français : Portrait d’Albert Einstein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I always thought, that the best way to relax from hard brain job, is to do nothing, or to do some meaningless things, such as meaningless movies, videos, etc.

 

It seems, like in this way I was killing my spirit and making harder  to come back to conscious. Well, I could say, it’s true. When I was used to take a rest with some meaningless TV series, later I had to fight with myself for getting back to the stuff I was doing.

 

S.Chandler offers to do some active relaxation – play some instrument, video games, gards, work in the garden or walking the dog.

 

Active relaxation refreshes and restores the mind. It keeps it flexible
and toned for thinking. Great thinkers have known this secret for a long
time. Winston Churchill used to paint to relax. Albert Einstein played
the violin. They could relax one part of the brain while stimulating
another. When they returned to workday pursuits they were fresher and
sharper than ever.”

 

I could add not only brain activities, but also sport. When I could, I was going to the gym – after it I was so fresh, that I could come back to my work. It’s a pitty I can’t do outside sports now. No money, and the weather outside is not the best – yesterday apperead snow! :) I hope, in San-Sebastian the weather would be better and I could run at least few times a week.

 

Personally me, I always prefer active leisure. I prefer to go hiking than stay whole day in a beach. I prefer walking than sitting somewhere all day.

 

So the same with active relaxation. Just new thing for me is that those meaningless things are tiring us even more. On the other hand, I’d like to believe that when everything is used with the limits, everything can be done. That’s true, I’m going to pay more attention to my relaxation times, but also I will use some moments to some useless things :)

 

But. I could add, that lately I feel that time is going so fast and I don’t want to lose any of my time. I want to use my time good and meaningfully.

 

 

 

Do you have something to say?

