Home » Motivaton » Step 94. Give yourself flying lessons

Step 94. Give yourself flying lessons


Mohandas K. Gandhi (1869-1948), political and ...

Mohandas K. Gandhi (1869-1948), political and spiritual leader of India. Location unknown. Fran├žais : Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (1869-1948), Guide politique et spirituel de l’Inde. Lieu inconnu. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Symbole_Heroes

Symbole_Heroes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s such a shame that last days of my “100 steps project” I’m so passive and writing way less. I’m a bit messed up lately, in some moments I really don’t understand what’s happening in my life. Anyway, everything is quite ok, these days I’m a bit sad, or digging again in the memories. But probably it’s normal – tomorrow my ex and our friends from Madrid are coming to visit me. Probably I’m worried, even though I don’t feel like, but it can be something unconscious.

***

Few months ago, when I started with this self-motivation stuff, I was thinking, that apart of this book, I should read more biographies. Biographies of strong people, who go straight to their objective, who have reached a high level of self-motivation. One of these people could be the coach of FC Barcelona, Tito Vilanova, lately fighting with a cancer. I’m not a fan of Barcelona team, but when I read about T.Vilanova, it amazes me. And it’s not that he is some special person, no, he just has very strong motivational system.

Sometimes these stories inspire us. Then we feel like having some extra energy to go and fight for our ways, dreams and objectives.

We need heroes in our lives. They are not a sign of weakness; they are a
source of strength. “Without heroes,” said Bernard Malamud, “we are
all plain people and we don’t know how far we can go.”
Heroes show us what’s possible for a human being to accomplish.”

Just at the moment I’m reading an autobiography of Gandhi. Maybe it’s more the story of how he grew up, got married, went to England, later to South Africa, but it’s also a story of how he evolved like a person.

And now I’m also looking for some good good biography. I don’t want all these “famous celebrities” stories, which are quite similar – poor guy/girl meets an important person who discovers his/her talents and makes them a “star”, or something like this. I would prefer something, what really shows, that the way to the objective is not easy, it’s not from one day to another, it’s not always sunny. I need a story which shows that the heroe of the book is the same person like I am, letting me to know that I can reach the same like that person did.

When used properly, a hero can be an enriching source of energy and
inspiration. You don’t have to have just one hero, either. Choose a
number of them. Put their pictures up. Become an expert on their lives.
Collect books about them.”

When we are kids, our older brothers, sisters and parents are our heroes. When we grow up – this role belongs to our friend. But later it comes a moment, when we don’t have heroes anymore, we feel like we are heroes in our lives. I always thought, that I don’t have to look to anybody’s life, but create mine one. Now I see, that I can create my life by looking at other’s and motivating me. I don’t need to copy, I just need to get some strenght, support and motivation from outside.

“The best use of heroes is not to just be in awe of them, but to learn
something from them. To let their lives inspire us. They are only people
like we are. What distinguishes them from us is the great levels they’ve
reached in self-motivation. To passively adore them is to insult our own
potential. Instead of looking up to our heroes, it is much more beneficial
to look into them

One thought on “Step 94. Give yourself flying lessons

  1. I think sometimes heroes can help, especially if they are people we can relate too and they have overcome similar problems, but no-ones experience is ever going to be exactly like yours. You are unique.

    Sometimes when we are trying to do a project that is big and we’ve wanted to do for a while we unconciously create internal resistance, especially as it comes towards the end. Partly its a fear of the unknown. Sometimes even the fear of success, because if we are succesful then we have to be a new person. It feels like sadness or a mild depression. Unfortunately the only cure seems to be reflection and lots of it. Constantly checking whether the goals you have set for yourself are what you actually want to be doing and the resistance is not a sign that you are on the right path, and if it is was you want to be doing checking for its source and seeing how it can be overcome. The other part of it is your brain wondering what the heck you are going to do with the space in your life once your big project is over.

Do you have something to say?

