Home » Steps » Step 31. Find a place to come from

Step 31. Find a place to come from


Your happiness is your birthright

For this reason we shouldn’t depend on the circumstances and we shouldn’t wait until the “happiness” will come. What does it mean “happiness”? It’s something WE define by this term, not others. And our happiness should be always with us. This feeling is not an objective – it’s a tool to live the┬álife and get the things.

Most people think they’ll feel good once they reach some goal. They
think happiness is out there somewhere, perhaps not even too far away,
but out there all the same.
The problem with putting off feeling good about yourself until you hit a
certain goal is that it may never happen. And you know all the time
you’re striving for it that it may never happen. So, by linking your
happiness to something you don’t have yet, you’re denying your power
to create happiness for yourself.
A lot of people use personal unhappiness as a tool, as proof of their own
sincerity and compassion. Yet, as Barry Kaufman points out eloquently
in To Love Is to Be Happy With, being unhappy is not necessary. You
can be happy and also be sincere. You can be happy and also be
compassionate. In fact, loving someone while you are unhappy does not
show up like love at all.” S. Chandler.

I have to admit – this is the thought I was having not so long time ago – I’ll be happy when I find a job. I’ll be happy when I do what I want. Even though, I WAS HAPPY just being where I wanted to be.

Glad to find out that everyone can be happy at the moment they choose to be so :)

I should come FROM happiness, and don’t go TOWARDS it. My happiness must be with me all the time.

Do you have something to say?

