Home » Motivaton » Step 54. Put on a good debate

Step 54. Put on a good debate


optimism-by-doug-savageHave you ever thought about the relationship between the debate and optimism? I haven’t.

But it seems, there is one.

Do you know the rules of debate? If I’m not mistaken, the parts of debate never know the position or argument they’ll have to take until the last moment. So when they get it, they have to argue like there is no tomorrow, even though they don’t believe in it. Just doing so, they can win the discussion.

Here it comes the connection with optimism and positive thinking. Everytime it appears pessimistic thoughts, it’s up to us to debate with them and show, that it worth more to stay with positive ideas. When we have them, we have motivation to do something, to move – I’ve discussed it in yesterday’s post keep thinking.

optimism-from-superjudgeIt’s hard job to fight, to believe, not to start to think that it’s a lie to ourselves. I’m thinking about this lately. Since I’ve lost my routine this week, I lost the control and I started to think, that actually I haven’t made any progress since october and everything is just hocus-pocus, and I was doing good just because I was concentrated  into studies. Now, when semester is finished, I’ve had almost all exams, just one essay is left which I hope to write tomorrow, I start to think that I’m still in the same state of mind like I was in autumn. Even I know that it’s not true. I’ve made huge progress. And even this week I was crying and feeling dissapointed again, I was angry and I had to take medicine (herbs) to stay calm and be able to sleep, I know, that everything is better now. And it’s normal that sometimes I get into motivational pit, but I know that it’s smaller and I’ll get out of it as always.

 

Start to argue against your first line of reasoning. Pretend you’re an
attorney whose job is to prove the pessimist in you wrong. Start off on
building your case for what’s possible. You’ll surprise yourself.
Optimism is by nature expansive—it opens door after door to what’s
possible. Pessimism is just the opposite—it is constrictive. It shuts the
door on possibility. If you really want to open up your life and motivate
yourself to succeed, become an optimistic thinker.”

 

Do you have something to say?

